top of page
  • Anna-Karina Yuill

In Conversation with Refashion the Future

Refashion the Future is an online platform and community aimed at exploring consumerism and slow fashion. LRFS' AK Yuill speaks to founder Maddie Pope about the project, its next steps, and her top tips for getting into sustainable fashion.
 

Can you give me a bit of background about yourself and what you do?


I’m a third year Arabic and Spanish student at Durham, currently on my year abroad interning for an ethical fashion brand in Barcelona - and I move to Jordan in March! For as long as I can remember, I have loved clothes, art, and anything vaguely visual. It has consistently been a real area of release and peace for me - be that doing Art A-Level, making things on my own, or spending a few hours at an exhibition. Whilst I ended up pursuing a more traditionally academic route, this is still very much the case now - and Refashion the Future is definitely a manifestation of this.


You currently run Refashion the Future, an amazing platform focusing on sustainability within fashion. What inspired you to create it and when did the idea come about?


That’s super kind of you to say! In addition to loving anything creative, I’ve always had a very strong sense of right and wrong, which ultimately led to me exploring the social justice arena quite a lot. These two strands of me - the creative and the justice-seeking - were more or less separate until I was lucky enough to visit South America. There, I was in awe of the beautiful textiles and artisan crafts, as well as feeling as overwhelmed as ever by the issues of climate change, poverty, and social inequality.

Refashion the Future's Founder Maddie Pope

I had also started to read more about fashion’s links to these issues - especially online, from people like Venetia La Manna. Ultimately, I realised that two of the things I felt most passionate about (fashion and social justice) were, actually, one and the same thing. I wrestled with ways I could participate in driving a better

world for months after I got home - I literally could not sleep at night. Finally, I decided to just document my attempt at slow fashion on Instagram; it was never meant to be anything more than that, but it has since mushroomed to be a huge part of my life.


Now, it is still definitely a personal style diary, but also a more collaborative space for people. As I became more and more invested in slow fashion, I found it frustrating that there was nowhere for (predominantly Gen-Z) audiences to read about and be inspired by the movement. For that reason, we invite article pitches from anyone who has something to say or explore, as well as collaborating with others on Instagram.


What would you say is your favourite part about running it?


Refashion as a personal creative outlet is, undoubtedly, a highlight - but so are all the people who I have met and interacted with through the page. I have met some truly incredible people, have had some unbelievably eye-opening experiences, and have learnt a lot about humanity in the process.


What has been your proudest moment since starting the project?


That’s a tricky one, I’ll be honest; I’m really just proud of it as a whole. That said, I was so excited when I was invited to talk on a panel about consumerism and fashion alongside a sustainability consultant from EcoAge - it’s been a dream of mine to work there since I was 18, so to be essentially working alongside them was a big pinch-me moment.


Have you faced any big challenges with your work, and if so, how have you tackled these?


One hundred per cent yes! Social media is, as I think we all tend to forget, a huge echo chamber. That is frustrating because obviously, I want to reach as many people as possible, yet it’s hard to break out of.


It has also been hard to separate my self-worth from the success of the platform (or, as I sometimes feel, its perceived lack thereof). Social stats - likes, comments, shares - are so easy to get caught up with and can be a really deflating way of operating especially when it is so easy to compare with the performance of others. You want to create content that people enjoy, engage with, and are stimulated by, so inevitably you’re going to look at how posts perform. It’s hard to not let it get to you when things aren’t received as well as you wanted.


I won’t lie, I’m definitely still working on all of this! We all know how toxic social media can be, so I’m trying to find different ways of using it in a way that mostly benefits, rather than takes from, me.


Brands and consumers seem to be waking up more to the destructive effects of the fashion industry on people and the planet. What would be your advice for someone just starting their journey into conscious fashion consumption?


My go-to piece of advice? Wear what you already own. Those are the most sustainable pieces of clothing, full stop - even if they are from a fast fashion brand! “Shop” your own wardrobe, get creative and, if necessary, mend!


If you had to choose just one thing you wish everyone knew about slow fashion, what would it be?


Slow and sustainable fashion isn’t always expensive. It can actually be far cheaper when you couple a mindset shift of buying less with the idea of cost per wear. Fewer £300 Shein/PLT hauls, more considered buying, please!


Finally, how do you see Refashion the Future evolving? What would your ultimate goal be and do you have any plans coming up we can look forward to seeing?


Ever since I started the platform, I’ve really wanted to host some events. However, Covid came along and somewhat scuppered those plans. With that in mind, this year I’m hoping to finally do some bits and pieces in person and, hopefully, nurture a more physical sense of community.


Ultimately, I’d love to help brands and individuals to create a more just fashion industry - be that through business strategy or personal wardrobe strategy! That’s definitely still a way off, but something I think about a lot.

 

Images courtesy of Maddie Pope.


This year the Leeds RAG Fashion Show is raising funds for Racial Justice Network and Stop Hate UK. Follow us on Instagram for more information about upcoming fundraisers and the show. You can donate directly via JustGiving.




55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page